The Chaliapin Memorial Estates


Шаляпин-на-1.jpg Шаляпин-на-.jpg

Monday closed

Tuesday closed

Wednesday 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Thursday 12:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Friday 12:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Saturday 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Sunday 11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Address: 27-25 Novinsky Blvd, Moscow

Nearest metro station: Barrikadnaya or Krasnopresnenskaya

For information please call: 8 (499) 255-9899, 8 (499) 255-9864

Closed for cleaning on the last Friday of every month

This Novinsky Boulevard house witnessed much of the life and work of Feodor Chaliapin, the famous Russian bass singer. This is the first house owned by Chaliapin in Moscow, and it is filled with the special atmosphere.

The museum is rich in objects that belonged to the Chaliapin family. These include furniture, a Bechstein grand piano, a long case clock, the wedding candles of Feodor Chaliapin and his wife Iola Tornagi, theatrical costumes, playbills, and posters... There are also many paintings which were given to Feodor Chaliapin by artists like Valentin Serov, Konstantin Korovin, Vasily Polenov, Mikhail Nesterov, and Mikhail Vrubel. Boris Chaliapin, the son of Feodor Chaliapin, donated a vast collection of the singer's paintings to the Museum.

Presently, the Museum is closed as its exposition is being updated, but soon it will open its doors to visitors again. Here, changing exhibits, thematic and general tours, concerts by famous and young performers, subscription meetings, and children’s parties await them.

The art gallery is an integral part of the Feodor Chaliapin Memorial Mansion museum complex. It hosts exhibitions dedicated to Russian vocal art, its history and relevant topics. Here, they exhibit items from field-specific museums and private collections. The Gallery also hosts evenings and season-ticket concerts like “Musical Capitals of the World”, “Artistic Families”, “Meetings on Novinsky”, “Piano Evenings at Chaliapin’s”, “Choral Assemblies”, “Debuting at Chaliapin’s”, etc. Eminent singers from Russia and other countries hold workshops in this house where the great Russian opera singer resided.

Feodor Chaliapin was 37 years old when he purchased this Novinsky Boulevard house in 1910. He lived here for 12 years. During this period, he was at the peak of his talent; for him, it was a time of mature mastery, deeply creative work, and worldwide fame.

Once the house was purchased, Chaliapin’s wife Iola Tornagi, an Italian ballet dancer, took care of its improvement. The house, formerly owned by merchant's wife Kapitolina Bazhenova, was constructed in the late 18th century and was now transformed to become a European-style residence equipped with gas, running water, bathrooms and a telephone. The vast garden was also improved: there appeared a pergola offering a picturesque view of the Moskva River, cozy benches, a lime path, jasmine and lilac bushes, and a number of flower beds. This was a real family house for the Chaliapins, equally comfortable for the adults and the children (Feodor Chaliapin had five of them).

This hospitable mansion saw many Russian cultural celebrities, like Sergei Rachmaninov and Leonid Sobinov, Maxim Gorky and Ivan Bunin, Konstantin Korovin and Konstantin Stanislavsky.

In 1918, the house was nationalized, and it became a communal apartment for the next 60 years. In 1978, it was transferred to the Glinka Central State Museum of Musical Culture for the purposes of creating a Feodor Chaliapin Museum. It took eight years of complicated renovation and restoration work to make the mansion look the same as Feodor Chaliapin saw it.

The interior design was restored based on photographs and stories told by Feodor Chaliapin’s children. The White Hall, the Green Living Room, the dining room, the billiard room... Those who resided in these rooms lived in their accustomed routines that were not disturbed even by the hectic touring schedule of the opera singer. Feodor Chaliapin arranged rehearsals with many of his guests in the White Hall, in the dining room he celebrated his benefit performances and in the study he liked to read. Feodor Chaliapin was very fond of billiards, and his wife gave him a V.K. Schulz billiard table as a gift.

Today, just as it was during Chaliapin’s times, the house faces Novinsky Boulevard with its light straw-colored facade, its green roof is decorated with ornately shaped chimney caps, and the tops of the gate piers are topped with decorative urns.

Мемориальная усадьба Ф.И. Шаляпина


     



понедельник        
выходной
вторник выходной
среда 11:00 - 19:00
четверг 12:00 - 21:00
пятница 12:00 - 21:00
суббота 11:00 - 19:00
воскресенье 11:00 - 18:00
  












Адрес:
Москва, Новинский б-р, 25–27
Проезд:
ст. метро «Баррикадная»,
«Краснопресненская»
Справочная информация: 
(495) 605 6515 (доб.1168)
последняя пятница месяца - санитарный день                 
                 
 
     

Внимание! В сети Интернет функционирует поддельный сайт Мемориальной усадьбы Ф. И. Шаляпина. Данный интернет-ресурс не является официальным сайтом музея, и не содержит актуальную информацию об отделе ВМОМК имени М. И. Глинки. Будьте осторожны!


выставки.png Концерты.png  обр программы.png соб.png

Дом на Новинском бульваре связан с жизнью и творчеством выдающегося русского певца, знаменитого баса Фёдора Ивановича Шаляпина. Это первый собственный московский дом Шаляпина, и он наполнен особой «домашней» шаляпинской атмосферой.


Музей богат подлинными вещами семьи Шаляпиных. В их числе – предметы мебели, рояль Bechstein, напольные часы, венчальные свечи Фёдора и Иолы, театральные костюмы, программы спектаклей, афиши... В доме много картин, подаренных Шаляпину художниками В. Серовым, К. Коровиным, В. Поленовым, М. Нестеровым, М. Врубелем. Большую коллекцию собственных работ передал в дар Музею сын певца Борис Шаляпин.


В настоящее время Мемориальная усадьба открыта для посетителей. Их ждут выставки, тематические и обзорные экскурсии, концерты известных и молодых исполнителей, встречи абонементных циклов, детские праздники.


Галерея Мемориальной усадьбы Ф. И. Шаляпина составляет с Домом-музеем единый комплекс. В её помещении проводятся выставки, посвящённые как истории, так и актуальным вопросам отечественного вокального искусства: они знакомят посетителей с материалами профильных музеев и частных коллекций. В пространстве Галереи проходят вечера и концертные абонементы различной тематики – «Музыкальные столицы мира», «Артистические семьи», «Встречи на Новинском», «Фортепианные вечера в Доме Шаляпина», «Хоровые ассамблеи», «Дебют в доме Шаляпина» и др. В доме великого русского исполнителя проводят мастер-классы известные отечественные и зарубежные певцы.


Фёдор Иванович Шаляпин купил дом на Новинском бульваре в 1910 году, в возрасте 37 лет. Он прожил здесь двенадцать лет; это время расцвета его таланта, время зрелого мастерства, глубоко осознанного творчества, всемирной славы.


После покупки здания заботы о его ремонте взяла на себя жена Шаляпина – итальянская балерина Иола Торнаги. Бывший дом купчихи К. Баженовой, построенный в конце XVIII века, перестраивался на новый европейский лад: в нём появились газ, водопровод, ванные комнаты, телефон. Благоустраивался не только дом, но и обширный сад, где установили беседку с видом на Москву-реку и уютные скамейки, посадили липовую аллею, кусты жасмина, сирени, разбили клумбы. Для Шаляпиных это был настоящий семейный дом, где комфортно жилось и взрослым, и детям – а их у Фёдора Ивановича было пятеро.


В гостеприимной усадьбе часто бывали многие прославленные деятели отечественной культуры: С. Рахманинов и Л. Собинов, М. Горький и И. Бунин, К. Коровин и К. Станиславский.


В 1918 году дом был национализирован, и на 60 лет стал коммунальной квартирой. В 1978 году здание передали ГЦММК им. М. И. Глинки для создания Музея Ф. И. Шаляпина. Понадобилось восемь лет сложных ремонтно-реставрационных работ для того, чтобы восстановить дом таким, каким его знал Шаляпин.


Внутренние интерьеры дома воссоздавали по фотографиям и рассказам детей певца. Белый зал, Зелёная гостиная, столовая, кабинет, бильярдная... Жизнь в этих комнатах шла по заведённому порядку, её не нарушал напряжённый гастрольный график артиста. В Белом зале Шаляпин репетировал со многими своими гостями, в столовой праздновал бенефисы, в кабинете Фёдор Иванович любил читать. Шаляпин обожал бильярд, стол для игры фирмы «В. К. Шульц» ему подарила жена.


Теперь, как и во времена Шаляпина, к Новинскому бульвару обращён светло-палевый фасад дома, на его зелёной крыше красуются фигурные дымники, а на столбах резных чугунных ворот – декоративные вазы.